The Royal Canadian Navy honoured six sailors for acts of heroism or exceptional achievement during Navy Appreciation Day on November 25.

The six – Lt Robert Davenport, Lt John Willigar, Officer Cadet Jean-Charles Viens, Chief Petty Officer Second Class Edward Burns, Master Seaman Brandon Ensom, and Leading Seaman Alicia Barlow – were recognized as part of an annual event sponsored by the Navy League of Canada to connect parliamentarians with the RCN and the maritime defence industry.

“Thanks to the efforts of the Navy League of Canada, this is also an opportunity for our elected representatives to learn more about the achievements of our Navy’s most important resource: its people,” said RCN commander Vice-Admiral Mark Norman. “Each one of these sailors has pledged to conduct themselves in a way that supports the RCN’s core value of being ready for service at all times – ashore and afloat – both on and off duty. They are certainly, as our motto states, ‘Ready Aye Ready’.”

The six were hosted in the Senate Chamber by Speaker of the Senate and Honorary Captain (N) Noël Kinsella, Senators Daniel Lang and James Cowan, and Louise Mercier, president of Navy League of Canada.