Earlier today, the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC) announced the appointment of Cynthia Garneau, President of Bell Helicopter Textron Canada, as Chair of the AIAC Board of Directors.

Garneau, who is responsible for Bell Helicopter Textron Canada’s Mirabel operations, is taking over from David Gossen, President of IMP Aerospace & Defence, who served as Chair of the AIAC Board over the last 12 months.

Cynthia Garneau

“I am honoured to have the opportunity to serve as AIAC’s Board Chair,” said Garneau. “Maintaining our strategic edge, both here in Canada and around the world, will require a commitment to leveraging our expertise in collaborative innovation to drive growth and attract diverse talent across industries.”

As a national association, AIAC represents the world’s fifth-largest aerospace industry – Canada’s aerospace manufacturing and services sector. This sector, which employs over 208,000 Canadians, contributes nearly $28B to Canada’s GDP. It also exports 80 per cent of its output and spends over 20 per cent of its activity on research and development.

During the association’s Annual General Meeting held on November 7, Jim Quick, President and CEO of AIAC, officially welcomed Garneau to her new role. He said that she is an experienced executive and a leading voice within Canada’s aerospace community. As Chair, he believes that Garneau guidance and expertise will strengthen the association and position the industry for even greater success.

The Board of Directors of AIAC jointly oversee the activities of the association.

AIAC’s current Directors are:


Cynthia Garneau Chair President, Bell Helicopter Textron Canada Ltd.
Patrick Mann Vice Chair President, Patlon Aircraft & Industries
Jim Quick President & CEO AIAC
David Gossen Past Chair President, IMP Aerospace & Defence
Keith Donaldson Honorary Treasurer & Secretary Vice President, Sales & Business Development, Apex Industries Inc.
Brad Audette At Large Director, Engine Programs, MTU Maintenance Ltd.
Charles Bouchard At Large Chief Executive, Lockheed Martin Canada
David Curtis At Large President & CEO, Viking Air Ltd
Marc Parent At Large President & CEO, CAE Inc.
Mike Pley At Large President, Pley Consulting Inc.
Pierre Pyun At Large Vice President, Government Affairs, Bombardier
John Saabas At Large President, Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.
Daniel Verreault At Large Director for Canada, Military Systems Operation, GE-Aviation


Bryan Akerstream Director, Business Development, KF Aerospace
James Barnes Director, Canada – Global Marketing, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
Sylvain Boisvert General Delegate, SAFRAN
Brad Bourne President & CEO, Firan Technology Group Corporation
Tony Burgess President, TDM Technical Services
Jacques Comtois Vice President & General Manager, L-3 Communications MAS
Stewart Cramer Chief Executive Officer, Vertex Precision Manufacturing Ltd.
Denis Giangi President, Rolls-Royce Canada
Daniel Goldberg President & CEO, Telesat
Michel Grenier Vice President & General Manager, Thales Canada Avionics
Amandeep Kaler General Manager, Avcorp Industries Inc.
Gilles Labbé President & CEO, Héroux-Devtek Inc.
John Maris President, Marinvent Corporation
David Muir President, GasTOPS Ltd.
Lee Obst Managing Director, Rockwell Collins Canada
Kim Olson Senior Vice President, StandardAero
Michel Potvin President & CEO, Esterline CMC Electronics Inc.
Kevin Russell Vice President & General Manager, Asco Aerospace Canada Ltd.
Romain Trapp President Canada & COO North America, Airbus Canada
Tim Whittier Director, Government Relations-Landing Gear, UTC Aerospace Systems
Daniel Zannata VP, Business Development, Marketing and Contracts, Magellan Aerospace Corp.
To be appointed MDA


The Board also took the opportunity to acknowledge the service and contributions of AIAC’s outgoing Chair, David Gossen.